AAA and National Championships - Dates and Venues

Back to AAA Index and Introduction

These are the venues and dates of the main track and field championships each year. Events such as the marathon, 10 miles and combined events were usually held separately.

Men's Championships

Index of Venues

1866AAC23 MarLondon (BH)Birmingham (A)Alexander Stadium, Perry Barr, Birmingham32730
1867AAC15 AprLondon (BH)Birmingham (ALG)Aston Lower Grounds, Birmingham33
1868AAC19-20 JunLondon (BH)CreweAlexander AC Ground, Crewe11
1869AAC3 AprLondon (LB)HuddersfieldHuddersfield Cricket & Athletic Club Grounds22
1870AAC8-9 AprLondon (LB)London (BH)Beaufort House, West Brompton, London33
1871AAC3 AprLondon (LB)London (Ch)Chiswick, London22
1872AAC27 MarLondon (LB)London (CP)Crystal Palace, London171734
1873AAC5 AprLondon (LB)London (HH)Herne Hill, London11
1874AAC30 MarLondon (LB)London (LB)Lillie Bridge, West Brompton, London1313
1875AAC22 MarLondon (LB)London (SB)Stamford Bridge, London29736
1876AAC10 AprLondon (LB)London (TB)Tooting Bec, London11
1877AAC26 MarLondon (LB)London (WC)White City, London342458
1878AAC15 AprLondon (LB)London (Wo)Woolwich, London11
1879AAC7 AprLondon (LB)Manchester (Fa)Fallowfield, Manchester22
1879LAC14&16 JunLondon (SB)Manchester (OT)Manchester AC Grounds, Old Trafford11
1880AAA3 JulLondon (LB)Manchester (SC)Sport City, Manchester44
1881AAA16 JulBirmingham (ALG)NorthamptonCounty Cricket Ground, Northampton33
1882AAA1 JulStoke-on-TrentRochdaleThe Athletic Ground, Rochdale11
1883AAA30 JunLondon (LB)Sheffield (DV)Don Valley, Sheffield11
1884AAA21 JunBirmingham (ALG)SouthportSports Ground, Southport11
1885AAA27 JunSouthportStoke-on-TrentVictoria AC Grounds, Stoke-on-Trent11
1886AAA3 JulLondon (SB)StourbridgeCricket Ground, Stourbridge11
1887AAA2 JulStourbridgeWolverhamptonMolineux Grounds, Wolverhampton11
1888AAA30 JunCrewe
1889AAA29 JunLondon (SB)
1890AAA12 JulBirmingham (ALG)
1891AAA27 JunManchester (OT)
1892AAA2 JulLondon (SB)
1893AAA1 JulNorthampton
1894AAA7 JulHuddersfield
1895AAA6 JulLondon (SB)
1896AAA4 JunNorthampton
1897AAA3 JulManchester (Fa)
1898AAA2 JulLondon (SB)
1899AAA1 JulWolverhampton
1900AAA7 JulLondon (SB)
1901AAA6 JulHuddersfield
1902AAA5 JulLondon (SB)
1903AAA4 JulNorthampton
1904AAA2 JulRochdale
1905AAA1 JulLondon (SB)
1906AAA7 JulLondon (SB)
1907AAA6 JulManchester (Fa)
1908AAA4 JulLondon (WC)
1909AAA3 JulLondon (SB)
1910AAA2 JulLondon (SB)
1911AAA1 JulLondon (SB)
1912AAA22 JunLondon (SB)
1913AAA5 JulLondon (SB)
1914AAA3-4 JulLondon (SB)
1915-1918 Not held

WAAA Championships

1919AAA5 JulLondon (SB)
1920AAA2-3 JulLondon (SB)
1921AAA1-2 JulLondon (SB)
1922AAA30 Jun-1 JulLondon (SB)various dates & venues
1923AAA6-7 JulLondon (SB)18 AugBromley
1924AAA20-21 JunLondon (SB)28 JunLondon (Wo)
1925AAA17-18 JulLondon (SB)11 JulLondon (SB)
1926AAA2-3 JulLondon (SB)19 JunLondon (SB)
1927AAA1-4 JulLondon (SB)9 JulReading
1928AAA6-7 JulLondon (SB)14 JulLondon (SB)
1929AAA5-6 JulLondon (SB)13 JulLondon (SB)
1930AAA4-5 JulLondon (SB)16 AugLondon (SB)
1931AAA3-4 JulLondon (SB)11 JulLondon (SB)
1932AAA1-2 JulLondon (WC)9 JulLondon (SB)
1933AAA7-8 JulLondon (WC)15 JulLondon (WC)
1934AAA13-14 JulLondon (WC)30 JunLondon (HH)
1935AAA12-13 JulLondon (WC)10 AugLondon (WC)
1936AAA10-11 JulLondon (WC)18 JulLondon (WC)
1937AAA16-17 JulLondon (WC)7 AugLondon (WC)
1938AAA15-16 JulLondon (WC)2 JulLondon (WC)
1939AAA7-8 JulLondon (WC)22 JulLondon (WC)
1940-1944Not held
1945Not held18 AugLondon (TB)
1946AAA19-20 JulLondon (WC)13 JulLondon (WC)
1947AAA18-19 JulLondon (WC)2 AugLondon (Ch)
1948AAA2-3 JulLondon (WC)26 JunLondon (Ch)
1949AAA15-16 JulLondon (WC)9 JulLondon (WC)
1950AAA14-15 JulLondon (WC)8 JulLondon (WC)
1951AAA13-14 JulLondon (WC)7 JulLondon (WC)
1952AAA20-21 JunLondon (WC)14 JunLondon (WC)
1953AAA10-11 JulLondon (WC)4 JulLondon (WC)
1954AAA9-10 JulLondon (WC)19 JunLondon (WC)
1955AAA15-16 JulLondon (WC)2 JulLondon (WC)
1956AAA13-14 JulLondon (WC)11 AugLondon (WC)
1957AAA12-13 JulLondon (WC)6 JulLondon (WC)
1958AAA11-12 JulLondon (WC)7 JunMotspur Park
1959AAA10-11 JulLondon (WC)4 JulMotspur Park
1960AAA15-16 JulLondon (WC)2 JulLondon (WC)
1961AAA14-15 JulLondon (WC)8 JulLondon (WC)
1962AAA13-14 JulLondon (WC)7 JulLondon (WC)
1963AAA12-13 JulLondon (WC)6 JulLondon (WC)
1964AAA10-11 JulLondon (WC)4 JulLondon (WC)
1965AAA9-10 JulLondon (WC)3 JulLondon (WC)
1966AAA8-9 JulLondon (WC)1-2 JulLondon (WC)
1967AAA14-15 JulLondon (WC)30 Jun-1 JulLondon (WC)
1968AAA12-13 JulLondon (WC)19-20 JulLondon (CP)
1969AAA1-2 AugLondon (WC)18-19 JulLondon (CP)
1970AAA7-8 AugLondon (WC)19-20 JunLondon (CP)
1971AAA23-24 JulLondon (CP)16-17 JulLondon (CP)
1972AAA14-15 JulLondon (CP)7-8 JulLondon (CP)
1973AAA13-14 JulLondon (CP)20-21 JulLondon (CP)
1974AAA12-13 JulLondon (CP)19-20 JulLondon (CP)
1975AAA1-2 AugLondon (CP)18-19 JulLondon (CP)
1976AAA13-14 AugLondon (CP)20-21 AugLondon (CP)
1977AAA22-23 JulLondon (CP)19-20 AugLondon (CP)
1978AAA23-24 JunLondon (CP)18-19 AugLondon (CP)
1979AAA13-14 JulLondon (CP)27-28 JulLondon (CP)
1980AAA5-6 SepLondon (CP)15-16 AugLondon (CP)
1981AAA7-8 AugLondon (CP)24-25 JulLondon (CP)
1982AAA24-25 JulLondon (CP)30-31 JulLondon (CP)
1983AAA23-24 JulLondon (CP)29-30 JulLondon (CP)
1984AAA23-24 JunLondon (CP)15-16 JunLondon (CP)
1985AAA13-14 JulLondon (CP)26-27 JulBirmingham (A)
1986AAA20-21 JunLondon (CP)6-7 JunBirmingham (A)
1987AAA1-2 AugLondon (CP)24-25 JulBirmingham (A)

Combined Championships

1988AAA/WAAA5-7 AugBirmingham (A)
1989AAA/WAAA11-13 AugBirmingham (A)
1990AAA/WAAA3-4 AugBirmingham (A)
1991AAA/WAAA26-27 JulBirmingham (A)
1992AAA27-28 JunBirmingham (A)
1993AAA16-17 JulBirmingham (A)
1994AAA11-12 JunSheffield (DV)
1995AAA15-16 JulBirmingham (A)
1996AAA14-16 JunBirmingham (A)
1997BAF11-13 JulBirmingham (A)
1997AAA24-25 AugBirmingham (A)
1998AAA24-26 JulBirmingham (A)
1999AAA23-25 JulBirmingham (A)
2000AAA11-13 AugBirmingham (A)
2001AAA13-15 JulBirmingham (A)
2002AAA12-14 JulBirmingham (A)
2003AAA25-27 JulBirmingham (A)
2004AAA10-11 JulManchester (SC)
2005AAA9-10 JulManchester (SC)
2006AAA15-16 JulManchester (SC)
2007NC27-29 JulManchester (SC)
2008NC11-13 JulBirmingham (A)
2009NC10-12 JulBirmingham (A)
2010NC25-27 JunBirmingham (A)
2011NC29-31 JulBirmingham (A)
2012NC22-24 JunBirmingham (A)
2013NC12-14 JulBirmingham (A)
2014NC27-29 JunBirmingham (A)
2015NC3-5 JulBirmingham (A)
2016NC24-26 JunBirmingham (A)
2017NC1-2 JulBirmingham (A)
2018NC30 Jun-1 JulBirmingham (A)

Back to AAA Index and Introduction